So I was scrolling through the facespace this morning and saw an article a friend shared about gluten-intolerance where the author claimed maltodextrin (an ingredient in my beloved Splenda) contained gluten.
*insert record-scratching sound here*
Some Googling around revealed that maltodextrin is a broken-down starch that can come from wheat, but that in the US it's generally from potato, rice, or corn (overseas it is generally derived from wheat). Some sources claim that even when it is wheat-derived, the protein portion is removed in processing and therefore it's safe for gluten-intolerant individuals and those with Celiac disease to consume. Others, however, suggest that you Google "Splenda sickness" before trusting the safety of the stuff, so I did, and fell down the rabbit hole of symptoms that look familiar-ish, and now I just don't know.
So I'm doing a trial separation from Splenda now, and I don't love it. Stevia liquid is okay, but...meh. I'm telling myself that if I feel the need to sweeten it before drinking it (I mostly use sweeteners in coffee and tea) I probably shouldn't go crazy with it to begin with and ought to have a nice healthy glass of water instead, but currently I'm pretty sad about the no-Splenda thing.
Hopefully when the nectar-flow hits this Spring my bees will provide enough honey that I'll use that to sweeten things instead of Stevia; by that time I should be at my goal weight and won't have to worry as much about the calories in every little thing.